Google Translate
Google Search
Home Page

Watling View School

Be Kind | Be Safe | Be Responsible

Be the best you can


Our Team

Watling View’s Senior Leadership Team (SLT) works in close partnership with its Governing Body to set the strategic vision for the school. The Governors role is to both support and challenge the senior leadership team. It meets formally four times per year, and has a range of committees examining school life in greater detail.


Richard Gutowski

Chair of Governors - Co-opted Governor with responsibility for SEN, Safeguarding, Children Looked After, Governor Development, SIP - Leadership and management

Richard Gutowski became a Governor in January 2014.  His Granddaughter attends the school.  Richard has recently retired from the Civil Service after nearly 40 years and prior to that was a school teacher.  Richard is part of the head teacher's performance review group.  He can be contacted directly at


Debbie Tankard

Co-opted Governor with responsibility for Numeracy, SIP - Holistic and curriculum

Debbie joined as a co-opted governor in July 2015.  Debbie was a teacher and special needs co-ordinator at a primary school in Essex and following her retirement in 2013, wanted to give something back to the community and particularly to children with special needs.  Prior to her late entry into the teaching profession, Debbie was a human resource and development specialist for a number of companies in Hertfordshire.  Debbie can be contacted at


Kate Johnson

Co-opted Governor with responsibility for SEN, Pupil Premium, SIP - Behaviour and curriculum

Kate joined as a co-opted governor in July 2018. Kate has worked as teacher for nearly 20 years and spent time teaching abroad as well as in central London. She has worked with many children with SEND; when she heard about Watling View she really wanted to support it . She currently works with a local Year 6 class and loves teaching. She serves on the Teaching and Learning Committee and can be contacted directly at:"


Elizabeth Droznika

Co-opted Governor

Elizabeth joined as a co-opted governor in December 2018.  Elizabeth previously worked in Banking, in both Product Management and Corporate Cash Management. She is now a stay-at-home mum looking after her two children, and also works part time at a Travel Consultant.  Elizabeth serves on the Finance and Resources committee. Elizabeth can be contacted at


Chloe Priest Griffiths

Chair of Finance and Resources - Co-opted Governor with responsibility for Finance and resources, Sports Premium, SIP 14-19 provision, SIP - Careers

Chloe joined as a co-opted governor in September 2014.  Chloe was Marketing Manager at a leading chamber orchestra before moving to work on membership and supporter development at a major UK art charity.  She is now a freelance marketing and project management consultant for various arts and not-for-profit organisations in London and Hertfordshire.  Chloe serves on the Teaching and Learning committee, and the Finance and Resources committee.  Chloe can be contacted at


Jo Roberts

Staff Governor

Jo has worked at Watling View School for over 10 years.  She has always lived in St. Albans, and has three children who attend local schools.  Jo can be contacted at


Committee Structure


Teaching and Learning

Richard Gutowski, Debbie Tankard, Pauline Atkins, Jo Roberts, Andrew Scott and Kate Johnson.


Finance and Resources

Chloe Priest Griffiths (Chair), Richard Gutowski, Pauline Atkins and Jo Roberts.



Richard Gutowski, Chloe Priest Griffiths, Pauline Atkins and Jo Roberts.



Debbie Tankard, Richard Gutowski and Pauline Atkins.